» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

''Election'' results in occupied Cyprus
2003-12-15 18:08:41

Nicosia, Dec 15 (CNA) -- The Republican Turkish Party of Mehmet Ali Talat secured 19 out of 50 ''seats'' in the so-called Turkish Cypriot Assembly clinching 35.18 per cent of the total votes, according to the unofficial results announced by the so-called higher election board. A total of 554 ballot boxes were opened.

The National Unity Party of so-called prime minister Dervis Eroglu comes second with 32.93 per cent of the votes and 18 ''seats'' in the ''parliament''.

Third in the votes is the Peace and Democracy Movement of Mustafa Akinci with 13.14 percent with six ''seats'', followed by the Democratic Party of Serdar Denktash (son of Turkish Cypriot leader Rauf Denktash, the self-styled president of the bogus-state) with 12.93 per cent of the votes but with seven ''seats'' because of the complicated "electoral" system.

Fifth is the Nationalist Peace Party of Ertogrul Hasipoglu with 3.23 per cent, the Solution and EU Party of Ali Erel with 1.97 per cent and the Cyprus Justice Party with 0.6 per cent.

The last three parties secured no ''seats'' since they did not make it to the 5 per cent threshold.

Printer Friendly Page