» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

Cyprus government approves Treaty establishing European Constitution
2004-10-27 10:27:40

Nicosia, Oct 27 (CNA) -- The Cyprus Council of Ministers approved today the Treaty establishing the new Constitution for Europe to be signed in Rome on 29 October.

Speaking after the meeting Government Spokesman Kypros Chrysostomides said the Council has also authorised President of the Republic Tassos Papadopoulos and Foreign Minister George Iacovou to sign the Treaty. They leave for the Italian capital tomorrow.

The Spokesman said that ''the Treaty is the result of a long process and a dialogue within the framework of the European Convention headed by former French President Valery Giscard d'Estaing and the Intergovernmental Conference with the active participation of all leaders of the 25 member states of the EU''.

''This new constitution will present a series of new institutions and procedures expected to contribute to a more effective, more democratic and integrated function of an enlarged Europe, as was the instruction by the European Council'', said the Spokesman, adding that this the European Constitution is one more step towards European integration.

He added that after the Treaty is signed on 29 October the Member States have to ratify the Constitution in accordance with their respective internal requirements, a process expected to last about two years.

According to the Cyprus Constitution the Treaty will be ratified by the House of Representatives, said Chrysostomides.

He also noted that the signing of the Treaty will take place in Rome where the six original member countries - France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium and Luxemburg - signed the treaty establishing the European Community in 1957.

The Treaty will be signed by the 25 Member States of the European Union and the three Intergovernmental Conference observers, namely Romania, Bulgaria and Turkey.

Printer Friendly Page