» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

Democratic Party leadership elected
2005-03-21 12:23:15

Nicosia, Mar 20 (CNA) -- Nicos Cleanthous and Nicos Pittokopitis have been reelected Deputy President and Vice President of Cyprus' ruling centre-right Democratic Party (DIKO), respectively, during the party elections held yesterday.

Cleanthous secured 4,306 votes over his opponent Andreas Agelides who secured 2,995 votes and Pittokopitis secured 4,131 votes over his opponent Antigoni Papadopoulou, who secured 3,183.

President of the party, Cyprus President Tassos Papadopoulos, was declared on February 26 President of the party. He ran for DIKO presidency unopposed.

Meanwhile the 15 new members of DIKO Executive Bureau were also announced today.

These are Marios Karoyian, Nicolas Papadopoulos, Kyriakos Kenevezos, George Kolokasides, Themis Themistocleous, Christos Mavrellis, Marinos Mousiouttas, Savas Vergas, Andreas Constantinou, Fotis Fotiou, Akis Cleanthous, Stelios Ieronimides, Athina Kyriakidou, Christiana Erotokritou and Eleni Koliou-Kirkou.

The names of the elected 111 members of DIKO Central Committee are expected to be announced later today.

Printer Friendly Page