» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

Members of US House of Representatives express appreciation to Cyprus President
2005-05-31 14:16:06

Nicosia, May 31 – Members of the US House of Representatives have expressed their appreciation to Cyprus President Tassos Papadopoulos for the support that Cyprus has offered in the fight against terrorism.

Republican Representative Jim Kolbe of Arizona, heading a ten-member delegation visiting Cyprus this week said they had a very good meeting with the President where they had the chance to “express our appreciation for the support that Cyprus has given to the war on terror”.

He also said the delegation was very impressed by Papadopoulos’ “outstanding remarks and his commitment in finding a solution that would unify Cyprus”.

The delegation also crossed to the Turkish occupied north of the island to meet Turkish Cypriot leaders.

The delegation included Nita Lowey (D-NY), Susan Davis (D-CA), David Price (D-NC), Henry Waxman (D-CA), Marion Berry (D-AK), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Gary Ackerman (D-NY), Cliff Stearns (R-FL) and Jeff Miller (R-FL).

Printer Friendly Page