» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

Entry Regulations and Visa Requirements- NEW
2002-05-18 11:37:02

CYPRUS ( Republic of)

Geographical Information

Capital: Nicosia (Lefkosia - NIC)

Entry regulations apply only to the areas controlled by the Government of the Republic of Cyprus.


Required, except for holders of:

1. Laissez-Passer issued by the United Nations. Nationals of Egypt and Israel can enter Cyprus with Laissez-Passer provided they are holding an entry permit previously obtained from the Immigration Department in Nicosia;

2. Travel document issued by the Government of Cyprus to nationals of Cyprus;

3. Document issued to stateless persons and recognized refugees.

4. Further to the above, citizens of the European Union countries, as well as of Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway may enter Cyprus with their national identity card provided there is a photo.


Passports of alien non-residents must be valid for 3 months beyond the period of intended stay. Passengers who wish to obtain a visa are advised to be in possession of a passport valid at least for 6 months beyond the period of intended stay.

Admission and transit restrictions:

The Government of the Republic of Cyprus refuses admission to:

1. Holders of Former Yugoslavian Republic's passports bearing a renewal stamp with the name 'Macedonia'. Entry is only allowed to holders of Yugoslavian passports without the above-mentioned stamp.

2. Holders of 'passports' issued illegally by the secessionist entity, the so-called 'Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus'.* Other nationalities having stamps or visas of the so-called 'Turkish Rep. of Northern Cyprus' in their passports are only allowed to enter Cyprus after the above-mentioned visas/stamps are cancelled by the Immigration Authorities of the Republic of Cyprus.

3. Artists working in Cabarets must hold a certificate for AIDS, hepatitis and syphilis, issued no more than 1 month prior to their arrival to Cyprus. Otherwise they will not be allowed to enter Cyprus.


* 'TRNC' has been denied any international recognition and has been condemned and declared as illegal by the entire International Community through Security Council Resolutions 541(1983) and 550(1984)

Additional Information:

1. Passengers who entered Cyprus via the illegal airport of Tymbou, situated in the occupied part of the Island, so called 'Ercan' or the closed ports of Famagusta, Kyrenia or Karavostassi will be refused entry into the free areas. The airports of Larnaca, and Paphos and the ports of Larnaca, Limassol, Paphos, and Latsi are situated in the areas controlled by the Republic of Cyprus. Leaving the free areas of the Republic of Cyprus via the aforementioned illegal airport, the so called airport of 'Ercan' or the closed ports of Famagusta, Kyrenia or Karavostassi is forbidden.

2. Visa: Warning:

Non-compliance with the entry regulations will result in the deportation of the passenger.

Visa requirements:

1. No visa is required for a stay of up to 90 days for all bona fide tourists nationals of: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea (South), Romania, Russia, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela, Hong-Kong Special Administrative Region (the exemption concerns only the holders of HKSAR passports) and Macao S.A.R. (the exception concerns only the holders of Macao S.A.R. passports) provided they are in possession of a valid passport. However, a valid passport with a visa is required for the nationals of all other countries.

2. Collective passports admitted. Visas required except if the holder belongs to a country mentioned in the first paragraph above.

3. Transit visas for a stay of up to 5 days in Cyprus are not required if the holder is a citizen of a country mentioned in the first paragraph above. Citizens of other countries, except Turkey and Iraq, may obtain transit visas for a stay of up to 5 days upon arrival provided their cases are considered as bona fide and they are in possession of onward tickets and visas for their country of destination where such visas are required. Citizens of Turkey and Iraq require visas issued by the Migration Officer, Ministry of Interior, CY 1457 Lefkosia, prior to their departure to Cyprus.

4. Those continuing their journey to a third country by the same or first connecting aircraft within 24 hours without leaving the airport, do not require a transit visa, provided they hold confirmed tickets and other documents required for their next destination.

Embassy of Cyprus
Washington, DC
May 17, 2002.

Printer Friendly Page