» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

Cyprus President reshuffles his Cabinet
2006-06-08 12:16:29

Nicosia, Jun 8 - Cyprus President Tassos Papadopoulos has reshuffled his Cabinet, the first such move since he took office in March 2003.

Mr. Papadopoulos axed half of his 12-member cabinet, including the Justice and Defence ministers, but kept Finance Minister Michalis Sarris, who is negotiating Cyprus's entry to the euro zone by Jan. 1, 2008.

The appointment of Commerce Minister George Lillikas to the Foreign Ministry was widely expected. He replaces George Iacovou, who held stints as Foreign Minister over two decades.

France-educated Lillikas, 46, is among the youngest in President Papadopoulos's team and is close to the President.

The composition of the new Cabinet is the following:

Minister of Defence: Phivos Klokkaris

Minister of Agriculture, Natural Resources and the Environment: Fotis Fotiou

Minister of Justice and Public Order: Sophoclis Sophocleous

Minister of Commerce, Industry, and Tourism: Antonis Michaelides

Minister of Foreign Affairs: George Lillikas

Minister of Labour and Social Insurance: Antonis Vassiliou

Minister of the Interior: Andreas Christou

Minister of Finance: Michalis Sarris

Minister of Education and Culture: Pefkios Georgiades

Minister of Communications and Works: Haris Thrasou

Minister of Health: Haris Haralambous

Undersecretary to the President Christoulos Pashiardes has been assigned the duties of Government Spokesman.

The new ministers will assume their duties on Tuesday 13, 2006.

Printer Friendly Page