» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

Cyprus will open 17 new diplomatic missions by 2010
2006-09-14 11:24:08

Cyprus is to open 17 new diplomatic missions abroad by 2010, six of them next year, according to Foreign Minister Giorgos Lillikas.

The countries next in line to host Cypriot diplomatic representatives are Luxemburg, Romania, Oman, Kuwait, Brazil and Kazakhstan.

In 2008, the Republic of Cyprus will be represented in Slovenia, Malta, Ukraine, Jordan and Argentina, followed in 2009 by Bahrain and Algeria and in 2010 by Canada.

Currently, Cyprus operates embassies in 32 countries, including 16 EU members, permanent delegations in four other states, two offices and four general consulates. It is also diplomatically represented in the Vatican.

Printer Friendly Page