» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

House Foreign Affairs Committee strongly supports implementation of the July 8, 2006 Agreement
2007-09-26 14:51:01

WASHINGTON, DC, Sep 26 – Today the House Foreign Affairs Committee by unanimous consent adopted H. Res. 405, which expresses strong support for the immediate implementation of the July 8, 2006, United Nations-brokered Agreement as the way forward to prepare for new comprehensive negotiations leading to the reunification of the Republic of Cyprus.

On July 8, 2006, President of the Republic of Cyprus Tassos Papadopoulos and Turkish Cypriot leader Mehmet Ali Talat, agreed, under the auspices of the United Nations Under Secretary General Ibrahim Gambari, to a set of principles to begin a process of bi-communal discussions. H. Res. 405 calls upon the United States Government to fully support the immediate implementation of the July 8, 2006 Agreement in its entirety and without deviation from that process.

The Resolution recalls that the United States Government has long supported fostering the reunification of Cyprus within a bi-zonal, bi-communal federation, and within a process that is led by the United Nations, thereby consistent with the intended aim of the July 8, 2006, Agreement, and as set out in the relevant United Nations Security Council resolutions. The Republic of Cyprus has repeatedly expressed its commitment to starting the process, which would create the necessary conditions for the commencement of negotiations leading to a reunification of Cyprus.

Speaking today from New York, where he will address the United Nations General Assembly, President Papadopoulos expressed satisfaction with the adoption of H.Res. 405 and the clear message of support given for the immediate implementation of the July 8, agreed-upon process. President Papadopoulos said, “Today’s adoption of H.Res. 405 is a positive and significant development.” The President also expressed his appreciation to the Committee on Foreign Affairs and particularly to Congressman Gus Bilirakis (R-Fl) who introduced the Resolution, as well as Members who co-sponsored this bill.

Co-sponsors of H. Res. 405 include: Rep. Andrews, Robert E. (D-NJ); Rep. Berkley, Shelley (D-NV); Rep. Brown, Henry E., Jr. (R-SC); Rep. Brown-Waite, Ginny (R-FL); Rep. Capuano, Michael E. (D-MA); Rep. Carnahan, Russ (D-MO); Rep. Crowley, Joseph (D-NY); Rep. Diaz-Balart, Lincoln (R-FL); Rep. Diaz-Balart, Mario (R-FL); Rep Engel, Eliot L. (D-NY); Rep. Fortuno, Luis G. (R-PR); Rep Fossella, Vito (R-NY); Rep. Franks, Trent (R-AZ); Rep. Gallegly, Elton (R-CA); Rep. Hinchey, Maurice D. (D-NY): Rep. Hodes, Paul W. (D-NH); Rep. Holt, Rush D. (D-NJ); Rep. Inglis, Bob (R-SC); Rep. Kennedy, Patrick J. (D-RI); Rep. King, Peter T. (R-NY); Rep. Lee, Barbara (D-CA); Rep. Maloney, Carolyn B. (D-NY); Rep. McCotter, Thaddeus G. (R-MI); Rep. Pallone, Frank, Jr. (D-NJ); Rep. Payne, Donald M. (D-NJ); Rep Ros-Lehtinen, Ileana (R-FL); Rep. Roskam, Peter J. (R-IL); Rep Sarbanes, John P. (D-MD); Rep. Sires, Albio (D-NJ); Rep. Space, Zachary T. (D-OH); Rep. Van Hollen, Chris (D-MD); Rep. Watson, Diane E. (D-CA).

Printer Friendly Page