» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

Cypriot drivers win Cyprus Rally, round 6 of 2007 MERC
2007-10-18 08:47:11

Nicosia, Oct 15 (CNA) - Cypriot drivers Charalambos Timotheou and Pambos Laos in their Mitsubishi Lancer EVO IX won the Cyprus Rally, round 6 of the 2007 FIA Middle East Championship (MERC), making Mr. Timotheou the first Cypriot driver to win the islandís leading international sports event since 1991.

Defending Middle East and P-WRC champion Nasser Al-Attiyah of Qatar and co-driver Chris Patterson secured second place in their Subaru Impreza, finishing the event 1 minute 18.7 seconds behind Timotheou.

Printer Friendly Page