» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

Top Cypriot athletes for 2007 awarded
2008-01-17 08:58:23

Nicosia, Jan 15 – Cyprus' top athletes for 2007 were honored during an award-giving ceremony organized Monday night by the Cyprus Sportswriters Union.

Cyprus President Tassos Papadopoulos, House of Representatives President Demetris Christofias and President of Cyprus Sport Organisation Mr. Christofides attended the ceremony in Nicosia.

The five best men and five best women athletes who received the awards were:

Men’s category: 1. George Achilleos (shooting), 2. Kyriakos Ioannou (track and field), 3. Marcos Baghdatis (tennis), 4. Pavlos Kontides (sailing), 5. Antonis Nicolaides (shooting).

Women’s category: 1. Eleni Artimata (track and field), 2. Anna Stylianou (swimming), 3. Alisa Kallinikou (track and field), 4. Louiza Theophanous (shooting) 5. Alexandra Tsisou (track and field).

In his address, Cyprus President Tassos Papadopoulos said that praises and applauses belong to those who every day exercise hard at stadiums and enjoy distinctions and successes. He noted that the state has the main responsibility to support their efforts in practice, noting that the Cyprus Government is aiming at forming the right framework and creating favorable conditions for changing mentalities and behaviors which divert Cyprus’ athletics from their goals and destination.

Printer Friendly Page