» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

New Cabinet Members Sworn In
2008-02-29 09:06:45

Nicosia, Feb 29 - The new members of the Council of Ministers were sworn in today before President Dimitris Christofias, with the exception of Minister of Foreign Affairs Marcos Kyprianou, who will be sworn in on Monday morning.

Mr. Kyprianou has resigned from his post as European Union Health Commissioner.

The composition of the new Council of Ministers is as follows:

Minister of Foreign Affairs: Marcos Kyprianou
Minister of Finance: Charilaos Stavrakis
Minister of Interior: Neoklis Sylikiotis
Minister of Defense: Kostas Papacostas
Minister of Agriculture, Natural Resources and the Environment: Michalis Polynikis
Minister of Justice and Public Order: Kypros Chrysostomides
Minister of Commerce, Industry, and Tourism: Antonis Paschalides
Minister of Labour and Social Insurance: Sotiroulla Charalambous
Minister of Education and Culture: Andreas Demetriou
Minister of Communications and Works: Nicos Nicolaides
Minister of Health: Christos Patsallides

Undersecretary to the President: Titos Christofides
Government Spokesman: Stephanos Stephanou
Commissioner of the Presidency: George Iacovou
Director of the President’s Office: Vassos Georgiou
Commissioner for the Environment: Charalambos Theopemptou

After the swearing in ceremony, President Christofias laid a wreath at the statue of Makarios III in the Presidential Palace court, after which the new cabinet began a ceremonial meeting.

Printer Friendly Page