» Home    » Cyprus Timeline    » Contact Us    » Links

Embassy News

PRESS RELEASE: The European Parliament publishes a Written Declaration on the return of the sealed-off section of Famagusta to its lawful inhabitants
2012-02-14 13:36:06

The European Parliament has issued a written declaration which it intends to send to the European Commission, the European Council, the governments of the European Union's member-states, the UN Secretary General and the government of Turkey, calling upon the latter to act according to UN Security Council Resolutions 550 (1984) and 789 (1992), as well as the recommendations in the report released by the Legislative Reports Committee of the European Parliament, and return the sealed-off area of Famagusta to its legal and rightful owners.

The declaration, which was signed by 390 members of the European Parliament on February 2, 2012, was submitted by MEPs Lidia Joanna Geringer de Oedenberg (PL-S&D), Willy Meyer (ES-GUE), Michalis Tremopoulos(GR-Greens), Cecilia Wikstrom (SE-ALDE)amd Arthur Zasada (PL-EPP). It was signed by MEPs from all EU member-states and all EU political parties, thereby constituting the official position of the European Parliament on the matter.

The declaration can be viewed in its entirety here: http://www.europarl.europa.eu/sides/getDoc.do?type=WDECL&reference=P7-DCL-2011-0042&format=PDF&language=EN

Printer Friendly Page